The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

Publisher: Orbit
Publication date: 28 August 2014
Format: Paperback

About the book

Harry August is on his deathbed. Again.

No matter what he does or the decisions he makes, when death comes, Harry always returns to where he began, a child with all the knowledge of a life he has already lived a dozen times before. Nothing ever changes.

Until now.

As Harry nears the end of his eleventh life, a little girl appears at his bedside. ‘I nearly missed you, Doctor August,’ she says. ‘I need to send a message.’

This is the story of what Harry does next, and what he did before, and how he tries to save a past he cannot change and a future he cannot allow.


‘An astonishing re-invention of the time-travel narrative. Bold, magical and masterful
M. R. Carey, author of The Girl With All The Gifts

Harry August will break your heart fifteen times
Jared Shurin

‘A story of love, loss, triumph, sorrow . . . The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August is an exceptionally well-written novel’

‘The writing is impeccable . . Plus Harry is a fascinating main character . . . And if his next 15 lives are half as eventful, we look forward to the sequel’

‘I don’t say this lightly but The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August is one of the top ten books I’ve ever read
James Dashner, bestselling author of The Maze Runner

‘A masterful literary thriller

‘A brave, genre-defying novel, which is mind-blowing in its originality and bold concept . . . Stunning!’

‘Beautifully written and structured . . . a remarkable book


Comments are closed.